Devine Appointment

Morning Watch 5/6/13
By Devine Appointment
For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. (Jeremiah 29:11 NLT)
It was Friday, August __ 2012. I was not terribly excited. In fact I felt nervous and insecure. God, I hope you are right! Seems like a truly stupid thought now, but it was at the forefront of my mind then.
I was on my way to FWISD to turn in my resignation; to cut off my way of supplying for my family; to erase my identity as teacher, provider, employee, a list to great to put here. I was dragging my feet the whole way.
God is asking us to be missionaries, I reminded myself. From God’s vantage point I’m sure it’s wonderful. However, from a human point of view it’s foolish, a few people had already told me so. “Go! And I will show you the way,” is what Becky and I were hearing. “Don’t ask for support from your church, conference, or anybody. I AM taking care of you. Tell anyone who will listen, the story I’m giving you, and invite them to come home.” I wonder if Abraham had similar feelings as he told people, friends, and family he was going . . . somewhere?
This foolish plan of God is wiser than the wisest of human plans, and God’s weakness is stronger than the greatest of human strength.
(1 Corinthians 1:25 NLT)
The following Sunday morning I awoke from a dream where I was leaving with my next door neighbor to attend church. It was much earlier than I wanted to be up on Sunday morning, but I couldn’t go back to sleep. I found myself preparing to go to church yet hoping not to. I knocked, and stood uneasy, as I waited for someone to answer the door. I didn’t know my neighbors that well. We would waive, offer neighborly pleasantries and such, but not much more than that.
They graciously accepted my self-invitation to attend church with them. I was even more graciously greeted by other members at the church.
The sermon was about the importance of family, especially the need for a good husband and father. After the service I was introduced to the pastor. I thanked him for the message, adding that our family was being asked to minister to other families. The pastor asked what we were doing. I shared that we hadn’t started, but had the idea that we would be traveling and sharing hope and encouragement with families. “That is what I do!” He replied. “I’m not the pastor of this church. About fifteen years ago, God asked me to quite my job and work for him. We- my wife, three children an I, travel around in a bus RV and encourage families.” We got here Friday and will be leaving this Thursday.
I have no doubt that God arranged this meeting. It was arranged to answer my doubts about who really takes care of me and my family.
There’s much more to this story. Bottom line is, you are invited to be part of a FOREVER FAMILY. You are invited to come home.

Leave a Reply

