What’s Up?

Morning Watch 5/8/13
What’s Up?/What’s goin on?
These are common questions. The response is usually the same; not much.
Often we are asking the question as a way of acknowledging someone and not really looking to engage in serious conversation. We’ve become so busy, so occupied that we rarely have time for one another.
My wife and I lay in bed in the evening; she reading her book, me checking eBay; she’s on Pinterest, I’m looking at twitter/LinkedIn/FB.
As I was waiting for a prescription, the store manager passed by and commented about the need to put a TV up for customers. I think I surprised him when I said there was no need to put up a TV. He then told me that most people might have to wait ten minutes for a prescription and don’t have much patients.
I read an article recently about the exploitation that occurs in places that manufacture products. Children are working in deplorable conditions for long hours. For the average price of $80, paid for a particular brand of shoe, the child laborer receives $1 per week.
I don’t have to look hard to see how God speaks to me about these things.
The Sovereign Lord has spoken— so who can refuse to proclaim his message? “My people have forgotten how to do right,” says the Lord. “Their fortresses are filled with wealth taken by theft and violence.
I’m choosing today to spend more intimate time with my family. I’m asking God to walk . . . if I can walk with him.
Can two people walk together without agreeing on the direction?
I’m busy. I’m neglectful. Unfortunately my track record with friends is not that great. And now I am being invited to a relationship with God. He’s asking to be my friend.
I no longer call you servants, because servants don’t know what their master is doing. But now I call you friends, because I have told you everything that my Father told me. “You did not choose me. I chose you. And I gave you this work: to go and produce fruit[Love others]—fruit that will last. Then the Father will give you anything you ask for in my name.
(Amos 3:8, 10, 3, NLT)
(John 15:15, 16 ERV)[rg]

Leave a Reply

