Are You Dead?

Morning Watch 5/12/13
Are You Dead?
[be] Fully satisfied and assured that God was/[is] able and mighty to keep His word and to do what He had promised.
(Romans 4:21 AMP)[rg]
When I was a kid, playing army was popular. I had hands full of little green plastic soldiers. Lines drawn, trenches and fortifications built, battles would commence. Rather, arguments would soon commence. I’m sure you already know, when it comes to kill or be killed; grazings, or perhaps a, minor, flesh wound might occur but, neither my opponent nor I would concede that a mortal wound had been dealt. Words, followed by dirt clod hand grenades flew back and forth as we’d try to determine who was right. The “game” would end when someone truly got hurt, or with threats to go tell. Often, what started as a friendly game ended in not being friends for a time – at least till someone said they were sorry.
Sad to say, I played this game many times. You’d think I’d have figured out that, the will to live, is just as strong in my friends as it was in mine.
God created me with a desire to live. I believe even those of us who are feeling hopeless, would accept a change in circumstances before suicide.
Sometimes I’ve felt like the life has been sucked right out of me. I think, if only someone would carry me to Miracle Max. He’d pronounce me only mostly dead, then fix me with a chocolate Bon Bon.
If you believe, God has promised more than what Miracle Max had to offer, “if he’s all dead, go through his pockets and look for loose change.” God promises that he can bring the dead back to life; not with chocolate, but with the same power used to create life in the beginning.
Are you dead? Maybe, like me, you sometimes feel like life has been sucked right out of you. God’s promise is where I find hope, for me and those I love.
If only I had known this promise back in the trenches. I would have claimed a God intervention, and been the resurrected army- undefeated.
God has invited me to lay down my weapons of self preservation and live without fear; live in the hope of eternity that begins now.
I have been given authority to extend this invitation to you. Come on! Be part of a loving, forever family!
That is what the Scriptures mean when God told him, “I have made you the father of many nations.” This happened because Abraham believed in the God who brings the dead back to life and who creates new things out of nothing. (Romans 4:17 NLT)

Leave a Reply

