Why All The Delays?

Why All The Delays?
If a train leaves Fort Worth, heading west . . . And another train leaves Oregon, headed south . . .
These kinds of math riddles had a way of making me feel completely inept. Falling for the lie, you’re dumb, I struggled with so many math concepts! I like what Bob Goff says in his book, Love Does, “Jesus plus nothing. . .” Even I can figure that one out. It reminds me of what Paul says to the people of Corinth, ” . . . Only when you are weak can everything be done completely by my power.” So I will gladly boast about my weaknesses. Then Christ’s power can stay in me. (2 Corinthians 12:9 ERV)
Here’s how things can work out when you trust. We, Love Doers, planned to leave for Napa, Ca. Sunday morning, May twelve. Friday, May ten, Sammy got sick and didn’t recover till Tuesday. Saturday, May eleven, the air conditioner in the van went out. It was repaired Wednesday afternoon. Wednesday evening, as Becky and I were packing the van, we heard the siren and warning to seek shelter immediately, “this is a tornado warning!” Thursday morning, May sixteen, we gathered our family for prayer and to seek direction. It was clear that we should go do all we could to help our Granbury neighbors. We unpacked the van and repacked with everything Becky could think of that would be useful. Friday, May 17, we pray and consider the possibility of a twenty-seven hour drive to be at Erika’s wedding. We decide to make the journey and stop to look at a bus in Wichita Falls that may fit our family for the work ahead. Becky took the wheel at about three pm. Several pit stops later, in Albuquerque, I took the wheel at four am. Several more pit stops brought us to Bakersfield, Ca. 5 pm. Aaron was passing by the front of our car. He looked at me hesitantly. My smile must have encouraged him to ask for help. So very timidly, he asked for a “little” help. Boldly I told him, “that’s exactly why I’m here!” He looked gratefully surprised. The relief in his eyes erased the fatigue in my body. “How much do you need,” I asked? Twenty dollars worth should get us home,” was his reply. I had him put in forty. “You need enough to allow for other things once you’re home,” I said. He made sure to hit forty exactly. As we talked I told how it was that we had arrived at the exact time they needed help – when a family van leaves Fort Worth, traveling at . . . NOT! I explained how God had placed us on an intersecting path because he knew we were listening. I shared all our delays but that God used it all to connect his kids in need – those who needed help, and those who needed to help. I also described the invitation to come home, He was extending to everyone. “We will be heavenly neighbors,” I volunteered. Our family prayed over Aaron And his family. As he walked away, Aaron said, “God sent you as angels.”
The Lord says, “I will guide you along the best pathway for your life. I will advise you and watch over you. (Psalms 32:8 NLT)
So now that you know God (or should I say, now that God knows you), why do you want to go back again and become slaves once more to the weak and useless spiritual principles of this world? (Galatians 4:9 NLT)
Knowing we are all family sets us free to be Love Doers.

2 thoughts on “Why All The Delays?

  1. That is really cool Rick!!! God’s timing is perfect and it is so neat to see you guys listening so intently to the Lord’s leading! I am also very glad you guys are safe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

