Money back, or ahead? (from our church news letter)

TESTIMONY
Money Back – or
Ahead?
As a businessman who believes in
the Biblical principles of stewardship, I’ve been used to retuning what I
thought was a faithful tithe. Each year,
after the accounting is done, I’ve corrected the amount of the tithe that I
had contributed and was happy in the
thought that I was faithful.
But a sermon by our pastor changed
my thinking. In essence, the pastor described a money-back offer: If we had returned our tithe in faith and found that
we couldn’t do without that tithe money
in our budget, he would see to it that we
got it back after a period of time. That
offer really got me thinking.
Was I really living on faith, trusting
my needs to God, or was I just returning
a dividend on what God had given me?
That month I decided to find out.
I decided to return my anticipated
next year’s tithe for the whole year in advance and see what God would choose
for my income. I added a fourteen percent increase over the previous year’s
tithe and put the check in the tithe envelope. In April I changed my business
from a sole proprietor to a corporation
and started receiving a monthly salary.
On this income I returned tithe also.
A year went by: my business gross
sales for that year were up fourteen
percent, and so was my faith. My warehouse is now full to overflowing.
– Jack McNeilus

Leave a Reply

